Student Assistance Program

 

What is a STUDENT ASSISTANCE PROGRAM?

Student Assistance Programs (SAP) were designed to aid school personnel in identifying and assisting middle and high school level students who may be experiencing problems which may affect academics or behavior at school.  At times, these problems may be related to mental health concerns, depression, suicidal thoughts or alcohol and other substance abuse.  The SAP team utilizes a systematic process, along with specially trained school personnel, to intervene, and refer these students to appropriate in-school and/or community services.

 

How does SAP work at CHS?

SAP consists of a core group of professionally trained staff of teachers, principals, school nurses, guidance counselors, and counselors from UPMC Behavioral Services Department.  SAP team members meet to review referrals and make appropriate recommendations for services. 

Students can be referred to SAP for different reasons:  violating the district‘s drug and alcohol policy; exhibiting signs of metal health problems, including the risk of suicide; behavioral concerns; or a drop in school performance.  It is important to know that students can be referred to SAP by teachers, school personnel, parents, friends, or by themselves.

Student participation in the program is voluntary and is meant to be a support service for students and families.  All information regarding a student‘s involvement in SAP is confidential and maintained in the best interest of the student.

Who is on the CHS team?

 

Team Members

Titles

Email Addresses 

Dr. Lantz

School Psychologist

slantz@springcovesd.org 

Miss Ray          

Building Secretary

lray@springcovesd.org

Mrs. Browell

School Counselor

dbrowell@springcovesd.org

Mrs. Claycomb       

Teacher  

sclaycomb@springcovesd.org

Mrs. Cerully

Assistant Principal

mcerully@springcovesd.org 

Mrs.Guyer  

School Nurse

lguyer@springcovesd.org

Mr. Gardner   

Outpatient Mental Health Therapist  

jardner2@homenursingagency.com

Miss Engelberg

Teacher

 

Mrs. Lonero

Teacher

elonero@springcovesd.org

Mrs. Thompson

Principal sthompson@springcovesd.org

Mr. Wolf

Teacher

jwolf@springcovesd.org

 

What services are offered by the SAP team?

Referral Screening

Mental Health Assessment Drug & Alcohol Assessment

Individual Counseling  & Outpatient Therapy

Referrals to outside agencies/services when needed

Support Groups Prevention Services

 
If you need more information, please contact Ms. Gordon, Central High School SAP Team Coordinator, at:


Central High School

718 Central High Road

Martinsburg, PA  16662

(814) 473-5111